Skip to content ↓

Our College System

Our College System promotes the following:

  • A sense of belonging to a community.
  • Teamwork.
  • Respect and understanding of others.
  • Promoting healthy competition.

The four colleges are named after four space missions: Challenger, Endeavour, Discovery and Voyager.

The names also suggest the idea of learning as a journey of challenge and discovery.

Each college has a number of captains in Year 11 who oversee each college, in addition our Heads of Year are attached to a college.

Challenger College Endeavour College
Discovery College Voyager College

All students are placed in tutor groups within one of these colleges. Each college is represented by a tutor group in each year.

Two members of staff are attached to each Tutor Group, this way we ensure each student has access to an adult who is responsible for his welfare. The tutor is also able to build greater contact with home so that parents are better informed about their son’s progress and well-being.

Each year a Head Boy and Deputy Head Boy are appointed. Prospective candidates are appointed by a panel of students from each year group and the outgoing post holders.

Other positions of responsibility are available to students who can apply to become a College Captain.  College Captains complete a special leadership accreditation which is a valuable addition to the post-16 applications.

Year-round competitions and events between Colleges culminate in Sports day and the total reward points decide which College will be victorious in the Annual College competition.